Othermill Pro – Plastic

The bright side

It’s a couple of months now the Othermill Pro is beautifully sitting on my desk and after having milled a few PCBs and showed off with my family and friends I feel dauntless enough to try something new.

I’ve got a small selection of end-mills and I didn’t want to break them all straight away with some tough material, so I opted for creating something out of plastic: a few key tags with a name on it could have done the job and milling a softer material should have be painless, right?

Sadly, I couldn’t have been wronger! As you can see from the result shown below, plastic has this unpleasant desire to melt when thermally stressed… As any other newbie I’m in a learning process.

image Looking at the outer border it should be clear the end mill was going clockwise and melting begun at 2 o’clock.

When milling plastic you must…

View original post 505 altre parole

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Segui assieme ad altri 421 follower

Zeirus’s Twitter Page

Categorie

Archivio


